Published: Tuesday 08 August, 2017

Free Tuition in SUCs: Negros Island Schools Identified for Free College Education

With the implementation of free tuition in state universities and colleges starting next year, students in Negros Island will have four SUCs where they can avail of the free college education. The 4 Negros Island Region SUCs are part of the 114 state universities and colleges which will implements President Rodrigo Duterte’s new law.

Negros free tuition in SUCs

Which Negros Island SUCs will grant free tuition? (CNN photo)

According to SunStar Bacolod, these four SUCs are the Central Philippines State University (CPSU) in Kabankalan City, Carlos Hilado Memorial State College in Talisay City, Northern Negros State College of Science and Technology in Sagay City, all in Negros Occidental, and Negros Oriental State University in Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental.

Of the 114 SUCs included in the implementation of Republic Act 10931, or the Universal Access to Quality Tertiary Education Act, 49 are in Luzon, 31 are in Mindanao, 26 in the Visayas and 8 are in the National Capital Region (NCR).

  Fake News: Free House, Motorcycles, Cash from Pacquiao After Matthysse Victory

President Rodrigo Duterte signed RA 10931 last week after it was approved in May by the Senate. The bill would have lapsed on August 5 had Duterte failed to approve it. But, despite the apprehension of his economic team, the president signed the new law where students will get FREE tuition fees, miscellaneous fees and all other mandatory fees all SUCs, and state-run technical-vocational institutions.

According to Dutetre, he signed it even if if he knew there is no budget for it because its benefits far outweigh the financial constraints. Congress has been directed to appropriate funds for the measure.