Published: Friday 11 May, 2018

Sereno Ousted as Chief Justice in Quo Warranto: See How the SC Justices Voted

Maria Lourdes Sereno is ousted as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. In a landmark quo warranto case, Sereno was ousted by a vote 8-6 on Friday during an en banc session at the Supreme Court. Sereno this becomes the second consecutive chief justice unseated from the position. Her predecessor, Renato Corona, was impeached in 2011.

Sereno was toppled as chief justice after allegedly failing to meet the integrity requirement for members of the judiciary.

Quo Warranto Case vs Sereno

In his quo warranto case filed before the Supreme Court, Solicitor General Jose Calida said Maria Lourdes Sereno failed to file the insufficient number of Statements of Assets, Liabilities and Net Worth (SALN) before the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) during her application as chief justice in 2012.

  Halalan 2019 Binay vs Binay in Makati: Abby Gets Support of Dad Jejomar Binay

Under JBC rules, all applicants must file ALL SALNs while they were in government service. In Sereno’s case, she only filed SALNs for 2009, 2010 and 2011 despite being in government service the past 20 years as a professor at the University of the Philippines (UP).

Calida also accused Sereno of failing to file SALNs in 11 previous times.

How the SC Justices Voted in Quo Warranto Case:

Voting to oust Sereno were Supreme Court Associate Justices Teresita Leonardo-De Castro, Diosdado Peralta, Lucas Bersamin, Francis Jardeleza, Samuel Martires, Noel Tijam, Andres Reyes Jr. and Alexander Gesmundo.

The justices who voted against the quo warranto case were Antonio Carpio, Presbitero Velasco, Perlas Bernabe, Mariano Del Castillo, Marvic Leonen and
Benjamin Caguioa.

  6/58 Ultra Lotto Winner from Samar Claims P472 Million Jackpot Prize at PCSO

Sereno earlier asked six justices to inhibit from the case but her petition was denied. These justices, who eventually voted against her, were Associate Justices Teresita de Castro, Diosdado Peralta, Noel Tijam, Francis Jardeleza, Lucas Bersamin, and Samuel Martires.

justices vote quo warranto sereno